The Rt Hon Keir Starmer MP Prime Minister 10 Downing Street London SW1A 2AA

20 May 2025

Dear Prime Minister,

We are writing about the case of Alaa Abd el-Fattah, the British-Egyptian political prisoner who should have been released at the end of his prison sentence in September 2024, and who has now been on hunger strike for more than 80 days. We are requesting an urgent update on progress, given the serious risks both to his health and that of his mother Laila Soueif, who has been on hunger strike in support of him since September 2024.

We welcomed your assurance to the House on 26 February that you would do everything you could to ensure Alaa's release, and your recognition that this was an "incredibly difficult situation" for his family. We were pleased to see that on 28 February, you pressed President Sisi for Alaa's release and agreed to speak to him again soon, and that on 2 March the National Security Adviser spoke to the Egyptian Foreign Minister about Alaa's case.

We were relieved that following these developments, Laila Soueif agreed to ease her hunger strike somewhat by accepting 300 calories per day, in recognition of these hopeful signs of progress, and was discharged from St Thomas' hospital.

However, we write with mounting concern about the lack of concrete progress on Alaa's case, more than two months after your call with President Sisi. Time is in desperately short supply in this case. Alaa has been acutely unwell in prison, experiencing vomiting, stomach pains, dizziness and blurred vision. Meanwhile, Laila's health continues to deteriorate. She has not eaten proper food for more than seven months.

Prime Minister, we remain gravely concerned about the implications for Alaa's family if the path to resolve his case and secure his release cannot be found very soon. There is also no doubt in our minds that if the health of Laila or Alaa is further damaged by this ordeal, this would have serious long-term implications for the British-Egyptian bilateral relationship. We urge you to deploy every tool at your government's disposal at this vital stage.

We offer our support to your efforts on behalf of Alaa and his family in any way needed.

Yours sincerely,

The undersigned

Brendan O'Hara MP, Interim Chair of the APPG Tim Roca MP, Deputy-Chair of the APPG Baroness Helena Kennedy LT KC, Vice-Chair of the APPG

Diane Abbott MP Shockat Adam MP Baroness Altmann Lord Alton of Liverpool Órfhlaith Begley MP Apsana Begum MP Alison Bennett MP **Baroness Bennett** Sian Berry MP **Baroness Blackstone** Olivia Blake MP **Baroness Blower Baroness Brinton** Jess Brown-Fuller MP Richard Burgon MP Ian Byrne MP Baroness Chakrabati Wendy Chamberlain MP Danny Chambers MP Ellie Chowns MP Jeremy Corbyn MP Stella Creasy MP Pat Cullen MP The Rt Hon David Davis Marsha de Cordova MP Carla Denyer MP Lord Dholakia Baroness D'Souza The Rt Hon Sir Iain **Duncan Smith MP** Neil Duncan-Jordan MP Colum Eastwood MP John Finucane MP Mary Kelly Foy MP Andrew George MP Rachel Gilmour MP Olly Glover MP

Marie Goldman MP

Sarah Green MP Lord Peter Hain The Lord Hannay of Chiswick GCMG CH Monica Harding MP Chris Hazzard MP Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hendy Chris Hinchcliff MP Dayre Hughes MP Baroness Angela Harris Baroness Janke Liz Jarvis MP Christine Jardine MP Kim Johnson MP Clive Jones MP Ben Lake MP Ian Lavery MP Brian Leishman MP **Baroness Lister** Rebecca Long-Bailey MP **Baroness Ludford** Douglas Macallister MP Brian Mathew MP Ben Maguire MP Cathal Mallaghan MP Blair McDougall MP John McDonnell MP Andy McDonald MP John Milne MP Calum Miller MP Layla Moran MP Graeme Morris MP The Rt Hon Lord

Edward Morello MP Paul Maskey MP Baroness Northover Sarah Olney MP Kate Osamor MP Kate Osborne MP Dr. Simon Opher MP Adrian Ramsay MP Martin Rhodes MP Lord Rooker Anna Sabine MP Lord Prem Sikka Vikki Slade MP The Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP Nadia Whittome MP Sir John Whittingdale MP **Baroness Whitaker** Paul Kohler MP Chris Law MP Bell Ribeiro Addy MP Freddie van Mierlo MP Caroline Voaden MP Zarah Sultana MP The Rt Hon Valerie Vaz MP Steve Witherden MP Munira Wilson MP Claire Young MP

McNally

Kilwinning

Lord McInnes of