

Chair: Alicia Kearns MP
Vice Chair: Baroness Helena Kennedy LT KC
Vice Chair: Brendan O'Hara MP
Vice Chair: Tim Roca MP

The Rt Hon Keir Starmer MP Prime Minister 10 Downing Street London SW1A 2AA

26 February 2025

Dear Prime Minister,

We are writing to express our deep alarm at the real risk to the life and health of Laila Soueif, who has been on hunger strike since September 2024 in protest at the continued unjust imprisonment of her son Alaa Abd el-Fattah, a British Egyptian political prisoner.

Laila was admitted to St Thomas's hospital in London on Monday 24 February, after her blood sugar levels dropped to 2.0 mmol/L and she recorded a very low blood pressure reading of 75/45. She is now on day 150 of her hunger strike and has lost almost 30kg - 35% of her starting body weight. On Tuesday 25 February, her blood sugar levels were recorded at 1.8 mmol/L and her blood pressure at 84/58. This is now a dreadfully urgent situation.

We very much welcome that you met Laila and her family on 14 February and committed to doing everything you could to secure Alaa's release. We are asking you to please act with utmost urgency at this stage to secure tangible progress towards Alaa's release.

We offer our support to your efforts in any way needed, in the interests of securing Alaa's release and allowing Laila to end her strike.

Yours sincerely,

Alicia Kearns MP
Baroness Kennedy of the Shaws LT KC
Tim Roca MP
Brendan O'Hara MP
Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP
Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle
Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP
Brian Leishman MP
Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer
Rt Hon Sir John Whittingdale
Baroness O'Loan DBE MRIA
Rt Hon. the Lord Hain
Rt Hon. Baroness Northover
Rt. Hon. Baroness Blackstone

Baroness Lister of Butersett CBE



Chair: Alicia Kearns MP
Vice Chair: Baroness Helena Kennedy LT KC
Vice Chair: Brendan O'Hara MP
Vice Chair: Tim Roca MP

Lord McInnes of Kilwinning CBE

Baroness Whitaker

Rt Hon John McDonnell MP

Baroness Altmann CBE

Ellie Chowns MP

Baroness Blower

Lord Alton of Liverpool

Sian Berry MP

Layla Moran MP

Rachael Maskell MP

Baroness Brinton

Neil Duncan-Jordan MP

Jeremy Corbyn MP

Douglas McAllister MP

Bob Blackman MP

Zarah Sultana MP

Baroness Ludford

Rt Hon Baroness D'Souza CMG

Richard Burgon MP

Rebecca Long-Bailey MP

Dr Simon Opher MP

Marsha de Cordova MP

Nadia Whittome MP

Calum Miller MP

Adrian Ramsay MP

Carla Denyer MP

Ian Byrne MP

Chris Hinchliff MP

Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP

Helen Maguire MP

Chris Law MP

Apsana Begum MP

Andy McDonald MP

Steve Witherden MP

Baroness Wolf of Dulwich DBE

Colum Eastwood MP